RSS Feed

Talk Back – PaD day 8

I loved today’s prompt, probably because I have plenty of sass and like to talk back as it is. Today’s prompt was to talk back to a dead poet, to write a response to one of his/her poems. The poem I chose was Robert Frost’s “Love and a Question.” My poem follows after. I hope you enjoy my reply.

Love and a Question by Robert Frost

A stranger came to the door at eve,
And he spoke the bridegroom fair.
He bore a green-white stick in his hand,
And, for all burden, care.
He asked with the eyes more than the lips
For a shelter for the night,
And he turned and looked at the road afar
Without a window light.

The bridegroom came forth into the porch
With, ‘Let us look at the sky,
And question what of the night to be,
Stranger, you and I.’
The woodbine leaves littered the yard,
The woodbine berries were blue,
Autumn, yes, winter was in the wind;
‘Stranger, I wish I knew.’

Within, the bride in the dusk alone
Bent over the open fire,
Her face rose-red with the glowing coal
And the thought of the heart’s desire.
The bridegroom looked at the weary road,
Yet saw but her within,
And wished her heart in a case of gold
And pinned with a silver pin.

The bridegroom thought it little to give
A dole of bread, a purse,
A heartfelt prayer for the poor of God,
Or for the rich a curse;
But whether or not a man was asked
To mar the love of two
By harboring woe in the bridal house,
The bridegroom wished he knew.

***

Love and an Answer, by Diana Terrill Clark
in answer to Robert Frost’s “Love and a Question”

A stranger came to our door last night
He bespoke my husband true
His stick in hand, he was a fright
What he wanted, well, I had a clue
He looked weary and so footsore,
needing shelter from the storm
That’s why he came then to our door
where we were safe and warm.

My husband went outside to speak
to the stranger by and by
I saw the weather, dark and bleak
I saw the darkened sky.
I saw the yard with branches strewn
and leaves and litter cluttered
on this the night of our honeymoon,
our windows fast and shuttered.

I went to tend the fire then
and bent to add some tinder.
The fire warmed my face again
and the fresh wood caught a cinder.
Outside my husband looked about
considering the heather
And I could see his lingering doubt
about the stormy weather.

I knew he might consider it right
to send the stranger onward
with food and coin to ease his plight
and then feel sorry afterward.
I called them both to sit by the fire
and take a warming meal
Compassion can true love inspire
and all misgivings heal.

About dianadomino

Writer, reader, and all about scamp, I also work as a legal secretary to pay the bills and have so many hobbies they have become kind of disjointed. I think I need more focus. Look! A rabbit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 604 other followers

