Wednesday Poetry Prompt

The Prompt today was “Telling it like it is”

(The prompt is from the Poetic Asides with Robert Lee Brewer website, which hosts a weekly poetry prompt. In fact, in April and November, there are whole poetry MONTHS but that is another post for another day.)

And my poem today is:

People I’ll Never Stop Loving

They probably know who they are
mostly.
But how can I give someone
a piece of myself
for years at a time
and then
never think about them again?

Never worry that they’re
eating their vegetables
or driving safely
or practicing
safe sex?

Never worry that they’re
paying their bills on time
or wearing a coat
or sunscreen?

Never worry that they’re
getting regular checkups
or taking their vitamins
or having that crazy
mole checked?

I can’t do that.
I can’t just stop caring
though I may not
always
stay in touch,
I always wonder
and pray
that they are all
okay.

Oops. I wrote another poem today, and it seemed to fit even though it’s written for my friend Elaine.

Do I?

Do I really want to know
how the women in your life
come and go and come and go?

When you asked me just today
for help in choosing the next
woman in a long array

of women, none of them me,
though you promise it’s really
true, and it is me you see,

what can I do but throw up
my hands and just walk away
and think about and size up

the way our stupid friendship
or maybe relationship
has gone. I’ll just get a grip;

I’ll give you good advice and
though the pain is sharp and hard
I’ll somehow, someway withstand

you.

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Poetry Prompt

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 45 (June 2-8, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  2. Enjoyed both of these, and they both tell it like it is – in very different ways. Liked the flow of thoughts in the first one – and the structure of the second – and that final “you”.

    Richard

    • Thanks! When I write I just let the muse flow, and those that I hardly have to change are the best, I think. The real meaning has already come through, so hardly any tweaking is necessary. I find when I have to write and rewrite and tweak and meddle, the work just isn’t as good.

  3. you write well.
    keep it up.

    Check out poets rally week 45 today…
    Have fun!
    That’s the perfect way to showcase your talent, make poetic friends, and receive poetry awards and more….hope to see you in, blessings.

    To submit, findThursday Poets Rally on my sidebar, have fun!

Leave a Reply

