Non-Apocolypse

I heard a parody song on the radio this morning titled “Where Were You When the World Kept Turning” referring, of course, to last Saturday’s non-event. Mr. Camping was so certain, and I feel a little pity for his confusion, but had he read more scripture, it would have helped him realize that we aren’t supposed to know the day, that we need to be living our madcap lives and doing as we normally do to be properly judged, not getting all ready and saying our prayers and finally, finally helping and loving our neighbors.

Silly guy. But then, maybe that’s what it takes for him to live the way he should, making a fool of himself for the world is the way he feels closer to his God.

On the other hand, he may just be an attention whore who had his 15 minute in 1994 and has always wanted to get that attention back again. Well he had the world’s attention, I’d say. Now, he is saying October 21 is the end times, and I imagine when that day comes and goes, there will be another date. But the attention will have drifted off him by then, don’t you think?

3 thoughts on “Non-Apocolypse

  1. I certainly hope the attention fades from him because I have to admit that a minuscule void in the back of my brain filled with worry that I might not have time to say things unsaid to those I love. If Mr. Camping accomplished one thing it was that I told my husband that I loved him beyond the general understanding of the term.

    And I thoroughly enjoy your work at P.A.

    • I know what you mean. But I figure that any reminder to live life to its fullest, to be nice to other people and be a great person is worthwhile, albeit annoying in his case. LOL

      And thank you, the admiration is mutual!

Leave a Reply

