Mumford and Sons – “Sigh No More”

I’ve been meaning to write a review of this album for some time because I am very impressed with it. The music genre is a sort of bluegrass or folk style, but I hear tones of blues, country, rock and soul that just cross genres.

The more I listen to the lyrics, the more I like the songs, the singer, the lyrics. This is a true poet’s album, the songs were all written, composed and performed by the band.

Here are lines from “Awake My Soul”:

How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes
I struggle to find any truth in your lies
And now my heart stumbles on things I don't know
My weakness I feel I must finally show

Here are some choice parts of “Timshel”

And you have your choices--these are what make man great
His ladder to the stars

The best song on the album in my opinion is “White Blank Page” which tears at ones soul if one has ever been hurt in love and still loves:

Can you lie next to her
And give her your heart
Your heart, as well as your body?
And can you lie next to her
And confess your love
Your love, as well as your folly?
And can you kneel before the king
And say I’m clean, I’m clean.

But tell me now where was my fault 
In loving you with my whole heart

Just excerpts. But the writer is as good as Dylan ever was.

I admit, I am obsessed with this music right now. I would recommend it to anyone.

One thought on “Mumford and Sons – “Sigh No More”

  1. Hi!

    Sorry I wrote you via comments, but I could not find a contact e-mail or feedback form on your site.

    My name is Sean Schrader and I work for 100% Records. We are a DIY label that seeks out unique voices like yours in hopes to share our releases and get your honest feedback. I would love to send you the materials for the Barry Brother’s latest folk rock release “Yawnin’ in the Dawnin’.” Please email me at press@100records.com and I will make sure you get a copy ASAP.

    Thanks!

    -Sean

    P.S. Please, delete this comment.

Leave a Reply

