Poetic Wednesday

The prompt today was: “Everything’s against me” and it did make me stop and think. Back to a time when I truly felt that everything and everyone was trying to make life unbearable. ^_^

Retrospect

Oh, to be 16 again
(and know what I know now).

I know now that every little 
pimple
broken nail
disarrayed hair
missed phone call
isn’t the tragedy I thought it was then.

I know now that 
I don’t have to be tan
to be cute.

I know now that
no matter how I loved that boy
there really are other fish in the sea.

I know now that being 
young
healthy
happy
are such miracles
and should be appreciated.

But appreciation is for 
the wiser
(older)
soul.

As a teen
everything
(everyone)
exists to 
annoy
torment
pressure
plague
bother
demand.

Only in retrospect
was that life
and time
beautiful.
Leave a Reply

