Wednesday Poetry

The prompt today was to write a spooky poem. I’ve written one titled “A Walk Alone at Night,” and also have included a little poem of mine that will be published this month by the Pagan Writer’s Press – The anthology is titled “Samhain” and the poem is titled Summer’s End, and I think it almost fits the prompt. ^_^ I also think it should be put to music, but I am not that good at writing my own music, unfortunately, much as I love music.

A Walk Alone at Night

It starts with an itchy feeling
between my shoulder-blades
as if someone is watching me.

It’s not as if the feeling fades,
rather, it grows until the shades
and spirits gather thick

and so I spin around
heart pounding
keys in hand

and nothing
is there.

And so I walk on trying not
to freak out, telling myself
it’s nothing,

when it feels so much
like something.

Summer’s End

Samhain is the ending and
Beginning of the year.
Take stock of our herds and grain 
And keep our family near.

Light the sacred fires, friends, 
So we may walk between
And purify ourselves this night,
The night of Hallow’een.

Take a flame from the bonfires,
And light your hearths with these
Set a place for the dead, you know,
Our ancestors to please

Light the sacred fires, friends, 
So we may walk between
And purify ourselves this night,
The night of Hallow’een.

So carve the samhnag carefully
And put near window panes
To keep the wicked dead away
And far from earthly ‘mesnes. 

Light the sacred fires, friends,
So we may walk between
And purify ourselves this night,
The night of Hallow’een.

(The samhnag is the carved turnip lantern that, in older days, 
was placed in the window to ward away evil spirits)
Leave a Reply

