Epigraph

The prompt today is to use an epigraph (or quotation) to kick start the poem.  I was having all KINDS of problems trying to figure out what quote to use, and happened upon one by Jack London that made me quit being picky. LOL Here are two “epigraph” poems.

 

Be Not Dismayed

You can't wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.
—Jack London

Overheard at a writer’s group
a few years ago:
“Oh, I can’t write
without 
everything being 
just so.
My desk must be clear
and my pencils all sharp
and the house must be
perfectly quiet.
No odd smells.
And the paper aligned
in precision with
all of Jupiter’s moons.”

(Okay, maybe not the moons
but the rest was pretty much
just as she said it.)

And then they looked at me
and asked:
“What do you need
before you can write?”

And I looked a bit blank, 
I guess, 
because they went on:
“You know, what needs to be
done first? 
What rituals do you have?"

And I answered, “Well,
I guess I need a computer
in front of me.
Or a pen and paper.”

“And that’s it?”

“Yes.”

And they were a little
bewildered
by my lack of 
fragile 
artistic
sensibility
and also
a little mad.


Going After It

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.
—Mae West

Life is short, it’s very brief
I know this to my sorrow
I’ve known joy and I’ve known grief
and trouble enough to borrow.

Reach right out and grab your life
and seize the day with fervor.
Ignore the worries and the strife,
Don’t be an observer.

Live your life, is my advice,
and live it to the fullest.
Procrastination has a price
even for the dullest.

Time is short and valuable
so treasure every moment
Yes, we all are fallible 
but that just makes time potent.
2 thoughts on “Epigraph

Leave a Reply

