Suspicious Minds

I had a busy day, which is why this post is so late. (I do like to get my poem done earlier in the day or it weighs around my ankle like a weight.) But because I was busy, I didn’t have time to develop the poem I thought I was going to write. This is much more lighthearted poem instead. I can live with that. ^_^ The prompt was to take a look at Elvis Presley’s “Suspicious Minds” and write a prompt based on the words, or on the idea…. Anyway, here it is.

Suspicious Minds

Our two cats Suzie and Emmett

(both rescued animals) live an

 

idyllic life. They are fed twice

daily, they have endless room to

 

play, catnip (on occasion), toys

and sunny windowsills galore

 

on which they lay and snore in cat-

tish lazy bliss. But things have changed.

 

Recently we’ve been nurturing

kittens whose feral mother dropped

 

them off in our back yard like an

ill-timed, thoughtless Christmas present

 

They’re getting bigger by the day

and, in fact, are becoming more

 

friendly too. And poor Emmett and

poor Suzie somehow seem to think

 

that soon, soon these usurpers will

take their places in our hearts. Who

 

knows what scenarios their sus-

picious kitty minds engender?

Leave a Reply

