Two for Tuesday – Fruits/Veggies

The prompt today,  as a Tuesday prompt, is a duo. Write one poem with a fruit title and another with a vegetable title. I wrote about two veggies, though, because the fruit one was long and I thought the veggies should have equal time. (And now that I’m done, I notice that my trio all begin with “B.” I wonder why?)

Blackberries

In Oregon, blackberry vines
are everywhere.
If they can get a toehold,
they take over.

Some of my earliest memories
involve my great-grandma
in her sunbonnet (!)
using her grub-hoe
to banish the unwelcome
visitors.

She had some
tenderly cultivated
vines
and she didn’t appreciate the
wild interlopers
trying to cross-breed
with her babies,
making them produce,
seedy
sour
fruit.

At harvest time, the briar patch
was immense.
We took buckets and
cautiously
wound
wended
crept
through the vines,
accumulating
berries
scratched arms
and legs
and purple
lips.

And the jam was
the best I’ve ever had.

# # #
Brussels Sprouts

Oh, oft-maligned and
somewhat seasonal sprout of
Brussels. I’ll eat you.

Broccoli

Eat your broccoli trees!
Best way to get kids to eat?
Just be dinosaurs.

2 thoughts on “Two for Tuesday – Fruits/Veggies

  1. Diana, we had blackberries behind our house in Ohio when I was a young child. This brought back so many memories. Beautifully written. And we’ve called broccoli “trees” (and cauliflower “snowy trees”) since the kids were young, but never thought of being dinosaurs. Love it!

Leave a Reply

