Consumption

My first thought was to handle this prompt in a backward way – write about the Consumption of old novels- tuberculosis. But I guess my muse had other ideas. Here is what I came up with today.

Links

As a consumer
I’ve lately become
enchanted
with the notion
that the things I buy
be made locally.

And I know that’s
not always
sensible
reasonable or
practical
but still.

I went to an arts
(and crafts) show
hosted by a friend
for the holiday
season.

I met each artist
and viewed their work
and bought some of
my Christmas presents
there.

And now I can tell the
recipient
of the gifts
this year
the name of the person
who made
each
item
and now I can tell the
artist
about who each
recipient is.

Somehow in my mind,
a chain is forged,
a link is made:
Artist~Me~Loved One
and it makes me
feel
whole.

###

If Love had a Price

I heard of a man,
someone’s father in law,
who, the day after
Christmas,
sells every
single
gift
he’s received that year.

Every
single
one.

I kind of think
this defeats the idea
of the holiday.

Now, the wife’s
childrens’
mother’s
money
has gone to the
retailer
and the father-in-law
gets a far-reduced price
from some stranger
in return for
selling their love.

Leave a Reply

