What _________ Think

The prompt was another fill-in-the-blank prompt, which is so much fun because everyone has such a variety of ideas. I came up with two diverse ideas, one uplifting and  a little silly, and the other more direct and painful.

###

What do Trees Think

Do they think, I wonder,
as they sway
under the blue
blue sky
of a summer’s day?

Do they think, I wonder,
when the hail is pelting
their bark and
stripping their
leaves in
Autumn?

Do they sleep, I wonder,
in the winter,
as I imagine them
sleeping
under white
and downy
blankets of
snow?

Do they think, I wonder,
in the Spring,
as they awaken,
sap beginning to
flow, leaves
uncurling,
blossoms
dropping
like a
benediction
in my hair?

###

What Do You Think

In tones of sarcasm
the words rebound on
childish heads
the mistake so
clumsily made
and now
so obvious,
apparent from the
parental tone
that drums into
their ears:

What do you think?
Or do you even think?
Did you bother to think?
I guess not.
You are
such
a
disappointment.

And the shaming
voice goes on
endlessly
drilling
into the subconscious
ears and minds
until that voice
accompanies
every
action
every
mistake
ever
made
forever
and
ever

amen.

One thought on “What _________ Think

  1. Loved these both – for different reasons –

    the tree poem I loved because I could picture the stately tree soldiering on through the seasons, the second poem because I’ve lived that one.

    Well done, Moskowitz

Leave a Reply

