I’ll Believe it When…

The prompt today was, as you see in the title, “I’ll Believe it When…” I struggled a little, mainly because I am really busy and preoccupied at work and so I just put the title down, went to lunch, let it mull around for a bit, and then went back to it. And my poem today is really, essentially, about change.

###

I’ll Believe it When YOU Change

People don’t change.

They really do, but
I must live my life
as if they don’t
won’t
can’t
ever
possibly
change.

If I go through life
hoping
pleading
praying
that someone I know
will somehow become
different,
learn new habits,
love me the way
I
want
them
to

and when they do
I’ll finally be happy,
well, let’s just say
it will never happen.

Change must begin
in me.

I’ve told myself
friends
kids
family
that when one
can change
oneself
that is when
the whole world
changes.

One thought on “I’ll Believe it When…

Leave a Reply

