Poem-a-Day Challenge

What? Me, write a poem every single day for an entire month? That sounds really hard, how would that be possible? Yet is is possible, and I’ve done it before, as anyone who’s read this blog most likely already knows. On the other hand, if you are a poet, aspiring, established, or otherwise, this is an excellent opportunity to challenge yourself and improve your writing skills.

The Writer’s Digest Poetic Asides website is Robert Lee Brewer’s poetry blog. At that website, the poem-a-day challenge is held every April and November, and the site is welcoming to all. The poets are friendly and do not (often) bite. I would encourage anyone who likes writing to take this challenge. It has definitely changed my life.

For instance, my poems have been published in two books, soon to be a third, via contacts made through this blog. That alone is more than encouraging, but there are other benefits. My writing, not just my skill at writing poetry, has improved. I’ve interacted with some of the most talented and amazing poets, from all over the U.S. and world, and am happy to call many of them friend. And because of my writing, I’ve been able to reach out to more people than ever, and isn’t that the point of writing? Sharing a thought, a moment, an occasion, with someone else. Let’s face it, writers need readers, and because of Poetic Asides, all of the poets who participate have that, plus, sometimes, feedback!

So I guess this is just me saying, if you’re a writer, I would definitely recommend it! Now go forth and poem!!

EDIT: Lest you think we are completely free-range poets during this month, there is a prompt to base the poem on at the beginning of each poeming day.

2 thoughts on “Poem-a-Day Challenge

Leave a Reply

