April 5, Before Your Time – Part II

I found another poem fitting today’s prompt wafting around my brain like one of the feathers from Poe’s raven. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed remembering.

###

Macabre

The sound of pencils scratching
in the class I loved, “Macabre
Lit,” taught by Mr. James Baird.
Who would have thought our small school
was big enough to let us
read the darker side of the
great names of literature.

The dusky mysteries un-
folded before our young minds:
Mike Hammer and The Maltese
Falcon and gothic treasures
like Jane Eyre and Lovecraft’s in-
tensity and that Never-
more-raven haunted my dreams.

2 thoughts on “April 5, Before Your Time – Part II

  1. Thanks, De, I love Poe too. And I was thinking about the new movie that’s coming out, and got all nostalgic for Macabre Lit and Mr. Baird’s class. ^_^

Leave a Reply

