April 6 – Hidden, Part II

Yep, there was another poem bumping around inside my brain. It still fits today’s prompt, but is more about reading than Easter this time, though there is an egg at the very end. ^_^ (Happy Good Friday to those who celebrate that; Happy Passover, and also, Happy Ostara.)

###

Hidden Treasures

How old was I when I discovered
the wonder hidden
between the covers
and on the
(boring-looking-
without-pictures)
pages?

That plain green cover
looked so dull,
but when the teacher
read to us
from Charlotte’s Web
and when Wilbur
and Fern
and rotten Templeton
came to life
I wondered if I
could obtain this magic
somehow
for myself.

And then, the world
opened up
like a Faberge
egg.

Leave a Reply

