April 9, Shady

Today’s prompt was “shady,” and we are allowed to interpret it however we want. But I chose the obvious interpretation, shady, as in the shade of a certain apple tree that was my refuge when I was young.

###

Shade

Summer afternoon
I’m up in a tree
I am pretending
there’s no one but me.

No nosy sisters,
nor brothers so mean.
Just me and my book
and the light tempered green

The sun shifting softly
through wind-waving leaves.
Just me and Ali Baba
and his forty thieves.

3 thoughts on “April 9, Shady

  1. Pingback: April 10, Forest, Trees (Two for Tuesday) « Drift of Bubbles

Leave a Reply

