Let’s Remember Dorinda’s Birthday

As many of you know, a good friend passed away last Autumn. Today’s her birthday, so this is a little memorium to her. I still miss her dreadfully. (If you are curious about her outfit, below, she is wearing a recreation of early Viking garb. She was also a member of the Society for Creative Anachronism, or SCA. She was one of the finest artists I’ve known.)

###

Let’s Remember Dorinda’s Birthday

Though why we remember
her birth,
when she has passed,
is a teensy bit silly.
I hear her laughing at it
even now because it always
seemed to surprise her to know
how much her friends cared.

It is sad to have her gone
but I still think that she
is past all that nonsense
of sadness and crying. She
did enough of it while she was here.

She’s cried enough.

So I remember her with a smile
and think of jokes I’d like
to tell her.

8 thoughts on “Let’s Remember Dorinda’s Birthday

    • Her death hit me particularly hard. She was younger than me by a few years, and we talked frequently. I just try to imagine her happy, out of sorrow’s way. Thanks, De.

  1. I love how clean and unpretentious this is. This is a fine tribute. May your heart be comforted today. – Moskowitz

  2. Diana, your lovely poem gave me pause, and I remembered all the friends (living and passed on) who’ve touched my life in some way. It made me also think of all the friends I’ve made through poetry, like-minded poets, who’ve also touched me deeply. We share small bits of our core, our centre, our soul with one another, and I think that’s a rare gift.

    • I love deeply when I love, so it is hard to lose a friend. It is a wonderful thing, though, to have friends, so I don’t stop myself from caring even though I know there might be pain a little later. Thank you for your perceptive kindness, Misky. ❤

  3. I miss Dorinda dearly but know she would like me to focus on the good times; all the laughter and smiles we shared together. I think of Dorinda daily and thankful to have known her.

    • I think of her frequently, miss her often. It is hard to believe I won’t be seeing her again. :/ But you’re right, we need to focus on the good and fond remembrances.

Leave a Reply

