April 24, Love/Anti-Love

Another year and another Tuesday Love/Anti-Love prompt. I went a different direction this year and just wrote one poem with both aspects.

On Sleep and Hate and Love

“But I don’t wanna go to bed.”
And the so the familiar refrain
is heard
by parents everywhere
who know, by the way,
that without enough sleep,
junior will be cranky and
irascible all the next day.

So the battle begins.

It helps to have a routine
from an early age,
bath time. . . teeth brushed. . .
potty. . . drink of water. . .
story time.
Every night.

But even then,
there will always be
the familiar refrain of
a wakeful child.

“I don’t wanna go to bed.”
which is to say:
You guys are having fun
and I don’t want to miss it.
or
If you loved me, you would
let me stay up.
or
I’m bored.

But a good, loving parent knows
that even when their child angrily shouts
“I HATE YOU!”
that it’s best to just put
them
to
bed.
As many times as necessary.
A parent that can kindly
enforce the rules
is really saying:
“I love you.”

2 thoughts on “April 24, Love/Anti-Love

Leave a Reply

