Adventures in Sewing, and Hammering Grommets (of Death)

A friend of mine asked me to fix her bathing suit. The general premise was that I should slit it up the sides and put in grommets so it could be one of those sexy lace-up-the-side numbers. And thank goodness she gave me a deadline because I am a known procrastinator. So I had until Friday—that is, have it done and delivered by Friday—so she could take it on vacation.

So I did it. I took the challenge. I slit the bathing suit up the sides and put some elastic facing on with my serger, and then put in 24 grommets. Now, before I go any further, let me tell you why I don’t usually use tools. I don’t use tools because I usually manage to do physical harm to myself when I use them. And its not like I don’t know how to use them, or that I’m inept or clumsy or anything. Add to this the fact that I always forget this small detail when I decide to go use tools for some little task I need to do. And when I have adult supervision in the house, I generally get started, start hurting myself, and said adult takes over with me helping and directing while I suck on my bleeding finger.

But I don’t have any adult supervision right now. O_o

Cut scene back to me, pounding grommets into the side seams of this bathing suit. I couldn’t find a hammer, and one definitely needs a hammer to use the little grommet tool to weld the grommets halves together. And I looked and looked for the hammer, but all I could manage to find was a hatchet with a flat back side, flat enough to hammer with. Figuring this would be better than the heel of  a stiletto, which would be the only other option if I didn’t want to go the hardware store to buy another hammer, (we have at least six hammers, why I couldn’t find one is beyond me, I just have bad tool luck, remember?) I decided to use the back of the hatchet. No problems here. I’m smart and capable, right?

*sigh*

Now, just in case you, dear reader, are faint of heart, don’t fear reading on. No fingers were actually lost in the grommeting of the bathing suit. However, I did find the hatchet kept slipping off the grommet tool as I hammered and it just insisted on mashing my fingers dreadfully. The last straw came on the 15th grommet, when I actually mashed the side of my finger badly enough to set it bleeding. Oh, the curses did flow, they did.

So I found a wrench to hold onto the grommet tool with so I could spare my fingers, and yes, it did take longer to hammer them because the wrench made the grommet tool slip somewhat, but my aching fingers didn’t care. I just made it work. And yes, maybe it looked foolish while I was doing it, but now that I’m done, the bathing suit looks just fab.

So now that my fingers are bandaged and my project is done, I thought I would share a little bit of my pain, and of course, any commiseration or condolences for my bruises would be gratifying. Oh, and I took a little picture of my weapons of mass destruction tools. And also, the bathing suit. ^_^

Weapons of Mass Destruction

Gorgeous and Good-as-New Bathing Suit

Close-up of Grommets of Death

10 thoughts on “Adventures in Sewing, and Hammering Grommets (of Death)

  1. This is hilarious! That first photo looks like a scene from a horror movie. You are obviously a dedicated friend, a brilliant sew-er, and a total klutz. What a combo. Oh, and a fantastic writer! 🙂 There is always room in the house for one more hammer…

    • If I HAD gone to the hardware store the story wouldn’t have ended up as funny, admit it. And I had no guarantees the hammer would work any better than the hatchet. I found that the more I hurt myself, the clumsier I got. D: But all’s well that ends well, I suppose. My fingers are still bruised, but I don’t think I will lose any fingernails this time.

      Thanks for your kind comments, Andrew. ^_^

  2. OMG. You are amazing. I’ve been sewing for 15 years and I’ve never once used a grommet. I’ve been to scared of them. Kudos to you for being brave! (and successful –it looks awesome!)

    • I do historical costuming, and have used grommets to lace up bodices and corsets and such. Hammers really do work better for this. :p Next time I will just go to the hardware store.

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

