Stray Thoughts and Random Ramblings about Travel

I am on my back-up computer (i.e., oooolllld  laptop) instead of my regular one because the regular one stopped working. It is out for repairs. In the meantime, I am trying to use this old one, and I keep getting messages that my disk space is low, and no matter how much I uninstall, I keep getting that message. I’ve deleted everything not necessary for the running of the computer, and still it says it has low disk space. *sigh*

I am going to be in the South this week. Beginning Monday I’ll be in various locales including Charlotte, NC, and Columbia, SC. My son is graduating from the Army! Of course, I’m not looking forward to the predations of the TSA, or to the cramped coach seats the airlines give one. Airline travel sure has changed. They only offer meals if you pay for them now. Once I bought a happy meal on the concourse right before I got on the plane, and I wished I’d gotten a lot more french fries to hand to the people giving me evil looks. But honestly, a happy meal was much more tasty than the dry boxes of crackers and processed cheese and candy that the airlines offer.  And of course, one cannot just bring a PB&J from home anymore because the TSA assumes it’s something terrible rather than just lunch.

I’m looking forward to being in the south even though I know it will be dreadfully humid. I am hoping to put my toes in some salt water at some point. I hear Charleston is beautiful, so I was thinking about going there, and also, Savannah, because that is where Paula Deen’s restaurant is!! I would love to taste her food!!

Myrtle Beach

I have been looking at various attractions in the areas I know I’ll be in, and so far I’ve found an aviation museum, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, and the Mint Museum (in Charlotte) and in Columbia, well, the Army base of course, for family day and for the actual graduation, and I read about a local canoe/kayak rental agency that offers tours of the rivers in Columbia. (Imagine, rivers with WATER in them!!!)*

If any of you’all have any suggestions, please comment and let me know them. I’ll have two “free” days, though the last free day will partly be traveling back to Charlotte to catch the plane home.

I will try to  post pictures, but that may have to wait until I have a better computer. (I know, first world problems, right?)  I’m taking this crap-top with me, so I will at least try to blog my adventures, and (of course) Wednesday Poetry!!

* We live in Arizona — rivers generally don’t have water in them here. Except for the Salt river where people go tubing and stuff, but other than that, no water.

4 thoughts on “Stray Thoughts and Random Ramblings about Travel

    • We are having fun so far, even though we had to get up at 3;00 a.m. to get to the airport for our 6:00 a.m. departure. *yawn* Will definitely sleep well tonight!

      Thanks Misky!! I’ll be posting pictures on facebook as I get them!

  1. Mmmmm… Paula Deen’s. You’ll have to post about the food if you go! (Word to the wise, I’ve heard you have to get in line to get ticket early in the morning. Good luck!)

    • Thanks for the hint, Erin, I am a little disappointed to learn that there are “tickets.” :/ Will have to discuss with T to see if he’s still game.

Leave a Reply

