Bed Planet

Today’s prompt was to use one of several opening lines found at the Poetic Asides prompt, and use one of them for the poem.

I chose, “My bed is a planet” and wrote this.

Bed Planet

My bed is a planet,
(Planet Sleep)
and I visit it
regularly,
(rapturously,
rosily,
cozily)
for my nightly infusion
of relaxation
and rest
and all the best
dressed
(for bed)
slumberers.

Except sometimes
when my bed
seems to be
(Planet Insomnia)
no longer
a bed of dreams
but one of
rest
-less
tumbling
grumbling
wakeful
inactivity
and no longer
my happy friend,
but a cruel
task-
master,
(disaster)
disallowing
any rest
(or not much)
at all.

The Nightmare by Henry Fuseli, 1781

4 thoughts on “Bed Planet

Leave a Reply

