When He’s Gone…Part II

Found this other poem floating around at the bottom of my psyche this afternoon. Here it is:

***

When He’s Gone

When he’s gone, I think,
I’ll be able to get that dog
I’ve always wanted.

When he’s gone, I think,
The kids and I can just go out
to McDonalds if we want.

When he’s gone, I think,
I won’t need to go to sleep alone,
wondering why he isn’t home yet.

When he’s gone, I think,
I won’t have to put his dinner down the
garbage disposal because he never came home at all.

When he’s gone, I think,
I won’t be quailing in the living room
while he rages in the hall, and is heading my way.

When he’s gone, I think,
I won’t have to do terrifying (communications),
(interventions), confrontations, when he disciplines the toddlers by
holding them against the wall and screaming at them.

When he’s gone, I think,
I won’t have to wonder where
that long, blonde hair in the shower came from.

When he’s gone, I think,
I won’t have to make excuses for him
at church, to my family, to my practically non-existent friends.

And then one day,
I got tired of thinking about him
and I thought,
I’m gone.

And I left.

4 thoughts on “When He’s Gone…Part II

Leave a Reply

