That Time of Year

Saguaro in the Snow

Saguaro in the Snow

I may or may not have been noticeably absent for a few weeks, mostly getting myself together after a long November and a hectic December. But it is Christmas Eve and though to me the season is more about family and friends more than about any religion in particular, I wanted to wish you all a Joyeux Noël!

Or, if you prefer, a lovely winter break.

I have lately found I haven’t really been myself for a long time. Once my youngest son moved out, I think I sank into a little depression, not a serious, treatable depression, no worries. I am such an optimist, life always has savor and I generally put a positive spin on things and have more ups than downs. No, what I mean is that I have felt “normal,” but having two of my three sons back at home at the same time has brought me such joy, I realize my new normal was a little flat.

The truth is, joy is family and having family around. Whatever religion you believe in, or even if you don’t believe in any religion at all, joy is family, and that special bond that only you few share in an indifferent world.

Enjoy your family, if you have them. And enjoy my wishes for a wonderful New Year.

It's a Wonderful Life

It’s a Wonderful Life

 

3 thoughts on “That Time of Year

Leave a Reply

