If I Were ____________

The prompt for Wednesday was to start a poem: If I were _____ and go from there. My offering is below.

Image

Alone

If I were alone
I would laugh aloud
and fling my arms out
and dance down he hall.

If I were alone
I would sing silly songs
as loud as I wanted
and make up new lyrics
as I went.

If I were alone
I would run outside in my bare feet
and play in the grass
and make daisy chains with
the clover.

If I were alone
I would watch the sun cross
the blue sky, or watchImage
the clouds scamper by
or watch the moon rise.

But Iā€™m not alone.

And if you see my eyes
twinkle
every now and then
maybe now you
know
why.

3 thoughts on “If I Were ____________

Leave a Reply

