Fragile

Write about something Fragile, was the prompt, and, as usual, the first thing that popped into my head was the thing that I wrote about. An incident at Myrtle beach last summer.

***

Life

Perhaps mischance
brought you to this
wet
and sandy
snare
or perhaps
some person’s dread
swatted you
into the briny
foam,
soaking your wingswet bee
with salt water
and
leaving you to
struggle,
each lapping wave
leaving
you weaker.

Nevertheless,
I cannot help
but try to save
even so
tiny
a
life
as
yours,
bee.

 

9 thoughts on “Fragile

  1. Have you ever thought about the opposite of fragile? What word(s) come to mind …
    Your post today is so very lovely, poor little dude. 🙂

    • Funny you ask, because before I went to the prompt, I had found a quote I really liked that was pretty much the opposite of fragile:

      The beauty of the soul shines out when a man bears with composure one heavy mischance after another, not because he does not feel them, but because he is a man of high and heroic temper.
      – Aristotle

      ❤ I love that quote, and it makes me think that even fragile humans can be indomitable.

    • Hahaha! I bet he would! My hubby just looked at me curiously–he doesn’t even question me about this stuff anymore. Even when I carry spiders and crickets outside and don’t sweep away the spiderwebs around my door until the occupant has moved on. Silly of me, probably, but it is what it is. ^_^

      Scorpions and roaches would be a different story, but they rarely venture in – the cats take pretty good care of us on that front.

Leave a Reply

