Slumber

Day two of Khara House’s 30X30 challenge.  Here goes:

Leap

Original By User:Pfctdayelise , edit by User:Capital photographer

Original By User:Pfctdayelise , edit by User:Capital photographer

I find myself on a precipice
readying myself to leap
once again
to the narrow rock bridge
that will then lead me to
the cliff face
where I need to meet with
two individuals,
both, somehow,
in charge of my destiny,
and in charge of the destiny
of the child I am carrying
piggyback.

I try to gauge whether or not
I can make this leap,
but the rock bridge looks further away
than it did earlier.

I am uncertain.

I call out to the leaders,
waiting impatiently for me
to come to them
with this child.

They angrily demand that I leap.

I demur; the bridge is too far away now,
especially overburdened as I am.

They grumble and go to move the rocks
that form the bridge
back
to where they were before,
and when they do, the bridge collapses,
the cliff face with it, and the two
leaders
fall to their doom.

And then, in shock,
I gasp, reach out to them…

And then my eyes open,
to my reality
in my room
in my bed
clutching my pillow
heart still pounding.

13 thoughts on “Slumber

    • But it always seems so real in the depth of it… One has to take it seriously when one is IN it. It is always a relief to wake, though.

      And thanks, lovely De. (Every time I start to write your name, I begin with a lower case d, as in de, which is how I first knew you on the PA’s street. I have to correct myself every single time. LOL)

    • Actually, I do a bit of dream interpretation. If you’re really interested, see below: ^_^ (You see, it all makes sense if you understand the archetypes of dreaming… https://dianaterrill.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/inspiration-dreams-and-archetypes/ )

      Rocks
      To see a rock in your dream symbolizes strength, permanence, stability and integrity, as conveyed in the common phrase “as solid as a rock”.

      To dream that you are climbing a rock signifies your determination, ambition and struggle. If the rock is particularly steep, then it refers to obstacles and disappointments.

      Cliff
      To dream that you are standing at the edge of a cliff indicates that you have reached an increased level of understanding, new awareness, and a fresh point of view. Alternatively, it suggests that you are pondering a life-altering decision.

      To dream that you or someone falls off a cliff suggests that you are going through a difficult time and are afraid of what is ahead for you. You fear that you may not be up for the challenge or that you cannot meet the expectations of others.

      To dream that you are climbing to the top of a cliff symbolizes your ambition and drive. The dream may parallel your desires to achieve success and to be the at the top of your profession.

      Bridge
      To dream that you are crossing a bridge signifies an important decision or a critical junction in your life. This decision will prove to be a positive change filled with prosperity and wealth in the horizon. Bridges represent a transitional period in your life where you will be moving on to a new stage. If the bridge is over water, then it suggests that your transition will be an emotional one.

      To see a bridge collapse in your dream implies that you have let an important opportunity pass you by

      Children
      To see children in your dream signify an aspect of yourself and your childlike qualities. You are trying to still satisfy repressed desires and unfulfilled hopes. Perhaps there is something that you need to see grow and nurture.

      • Very insightful!
        I went back to the post and read it.
        It all makes sense, but you seem to have a keen insight.
        You are right about forgetting dreams after we get up.
        I’ll put a pen and paper on my stand, and I will see what happens!

    • Hahaha! Isn’t that just the way of dreams, though? I admit, I was kind of glad to be awake, but still worried about the people that fell. LOL

  1. Dreams do sometimes seem to be deeper selves trying to help us, warn us, make us aware. Once, I dreamed a pun. It was telling me something important but in a funny way. I like your poem. It does convey the terror.

    • It was terrifying in the moment, I didn’t want to be responsible for the child’s death if I fell, but felt responsible when the others fell instead. One cannot escape ones subconscious!

  2. Strange how overwhelming dreams can be, and how vividly real (and sometimes haunting)! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

