Elemental

roses, petals
Elemental

It seems overt, everyone must see
the way I light up when you’re near.
All my passion, my joy, and my glee.
The way that I bask in your sphere.
As a rule all my life was austere
and I kept my thoughts close in my heart.
But this feeling can’t help but be clear.
Oh, I used to think I was so smart,
no emotion a component part
of my carefully planned life alone.
But now all of this love feels like art
and I know that my cover is blown.
Please give me some hope, I implore,
darling, tell me it’s me you adore.

Written for poetic asides November poem-a-day challenge, prompt, elemental.

Leave a Reply

