Someday Soon

Dandilion hearts

Someday Soon
my dragon’s hoard of
cookies, candies, cakes,
and pies will be parceled up to go to
various friends with
best wishes.

Someday soon
I expect a visit from my
Army son, just in time for
a few days of fun; feeding him up
as if he were supping for the whole Army
and letting him sleep late
every day.

Someday soon
I’ll find the time to
get those cards out the door
once more, to let those who care
know we haven’t fallen off
the planet
yet.

Someday soon
I’ll stop daydreaming
about when my children
were still small and weren’t
scattered like dandelion seeds
flying free in a puff
of wind.

Written for Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Wednesday Poetry Prompt, “Someday.”

2 thoughts on “Someday Soon

  1. The last stanza truly resonates and I quote that here.

    Someday soon
    I’ll stop daydreaming
    about when my children
    were still small and weren’t
    scattered like dandelion seeds
    flying free in a puff
    of wind.

    But do we really need to stop day dreaming? Specially when it continues to provide us so many pleasurable memories and moments? This is not about holding onto a past that was wonderful, rather about finding those anchors of support for our future.

    Loved the verse.

    Shakti

    • Thank you for visiting and reading my words. ^_^ And you are right, of course, it is best to hold on to ones dreams and fine reminiscences. You must forgive a mother her moment of melancholy.

Leave a Reply

