Safety

FollowYourHeart

***

The Illusion of Safety

My dog always thought
that if his head was hidden,
well, so was he.
Little did he comprehend
that the major portion of his
anatomy
lay in plain sight
for anyone with eyes to see.

Just so, I’ve realized,
is my penchant for words,
placing them carefully on my
(heartsleeve) website
for all to see,
surprised when some see deeper,
know me better
than even I know me.

***

THIS was written for a new prompt gleaned from a friend’s site.(Thanks De! Also, check out her poetry blog, Whimsygizmo!)  Quickly’s Prompts is where I found the new poem-a-day prompt. I don’t know if I can do TWO prompts a day, but we’ll see. ^_^ Things tend toward hectic in my world.

5 thoughts on “Safety

  1. Awww, thanks, Diana. I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep up, either, but it’s fun to try! SO fun to see you branching out somewhere new, too. That’s what April’s all about, right? 😉

      • Haha! Branching out, if I can. We’ll see. Worth trying anyhow.

        I miss having dogs, but my hubby thinks dogs should be outside, and I think they should be with their people. And since we have a difference of opinion, it wouldn’t be fair to bring a dog into it. ^_^ Lucky me, I have two cats at present that hide best in boxes. (Or at the darkness at the top of the stairs.)

Leave a Reply

