Discovery

 

Mother and child

 

Discovery

Packing today, for one of my sons.
Some hand-me-down toys from
older brothers. Lego scenarios
still ready to pick up the game
mid-stream, where it left off
long years before.

Books that range from
read-to-me picture books
to I-Can-Read
to Chapter books
to all the fiction and manga
and school-required reading.
All put away into boxes.

Awards from school.
Models of the solar system
and book reports.
Clothes, once favored,
not worn for a long time now.
All the detritus of a shed boyhood,
now that the man has moved away.

I sentimentally find myself weeping
a little bit,
missing the boy
who once lived here.

2 thoughts on “Discovery

Leave a Reply

