If I Were ________

Sparrows Flying - Watanabe Seitei

If I Were a Sparrow

I would fly away from everyone
and from everything oppressing me.
And then, of course, once I had begun
I’d fly high away from land and tree.
My flying would take me to the sea
where I would dive, and swoop, speed and soar
and maneuver with such joyful glee
that all that saw me could not ignore
the sense of freedom they saw offshore.
All those that saw me flying that day
would wonder about it ever more;
the stunning sparrow that flew astray.
I would fly fast as any arrow
If only I could be a sparrow.

Written for Poetic Asides.

Leave a Reply

