Revolution

Open Cage - Louis Icart - 1926

Internal Revolution

Dangerous
to open ones heart
to the world, walking out
with heart exposed
could mean pain
and loss.

Frightening
to leave oneself
open so that others
can climb inside
for good or ill.

Yet going about life
armored, guarded, waiting
for inevitable harm from anyone
everyone, at any time is a sad
and lonely way to live
every single day.

Protected, perhaps,
from danger and viciousness
and hate and greed, but also protected
from love and laughter
and life and life
and life.

3 thoughts on “Revolution

  1. I do tend to be a guarded person because I’ve had people take a dump on me and use me as toilet paper one too many times. However, I’m also open about certain issues (my mental illness) that others might keep in the closet out of fear of the stigma that those of us with psych conditions face. The way I’ve come to see it is this: if someone thinks they’re better than me because I have bipolar disorder, I don’t need that person in my life. But it took me a long time to get there.
    http://poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com/2014/10/octpowrimo-2014-day-4.html

    • I figure it doesn’t matter what people think if they’re jerks. It’s okay to walk away from mean people. But I won’t let them decide who I am, either. Just because some have been mean doesn’t mean I will let them force me to be angry or bitter or closed off. I think for the most part, people are good. I kind of make it a mission to find that good in them and help them let it shine. ^_^ I will live my life the way I want, mean people be damned. So that’s why I wrote what I wrote – it was an internal revolution, to not be what the world thinks I should be, to be unexpected, be who I want to be, the best I can be, and change the world that way, one heart at a time. ❤ Thank you for your comment. ❤

  2. First off the shape is lovely and the proportions seem to move with the poem. I loved the repetition at the end…and life and life and life. Lastly…this poem speaks to me…a lesson I wish I could make myself learn. I really liked this one.

Leave a Reply

