Unseen

Writing about something unseen, but felt, the most insistent idea had to do with the wind. Yes, yes, I know, how predictable. ^_^

Zephyrus wooing Flora by Henrietta Rae (1859-1928)

Zephyrus Wooing Flora by Henrietta Rae (1859-1928)

I Imagine the Wind

I imagine the wind as a lover: Gentle and angry by turns
Often the needed soft touch in the dark or a blast so cold that it burns
I imagine the wind as a lover: Coaxing and wheedling me
Begging for kisses then disappearing, or shrieking, an angry banshee
I imagine the wind as a lover: Pressing cold, stealing my breath
Unrelenting and angry as ever a mortal loved someone to death
I imagine the wind as a lover: Sweet zephyr’s kind touch on my cheek
Warming and tender and lovely and giving my nose a soft tweak
I imagine the wind as a lover: Bashing and breaking at will
Turning the house upside down on a whim, then leaving when it’s had its fill
I imagine the wind as a lover: Filling the sails on the sea
Making the boats skip the harbor like stones thrown by a child, fancy-free.
I imagine the wind as a lover: Imagining’s what poets do
We give insentient things intentions, and then paint emotions all through
So forgive my imaginings, reader. But surely, you, too, must admit
With the blowing and changing and stillness, at times the wind seems to have wit

Leave a Reply

