Honesty/Dishonesty

Alfonse Mucha 1896 French Ad, Biscuits Champagne-Lefèvre-Utile

Alfonse Mucha 1896 French Ad, Biscuits Champagne-Lefèvre-Utile

Invited to a Party

So nice to meet you all, what a lovely venue.
(So many strangers, I’m going to forget your names)
What a feast! They do have an expansive menu!
(So expensive! I can’t afford this, what a shame.)
The band IS great, isn’t it! Wait, what’s that you say?
(It would be better if I could hear over it…)
No, it’s fine. The ocean breeze is so nice today.
(I wish I had my sweater. Why did I forget?)
I wasn’t hungry, that’s why I wasn’t eating.
(I’m stopping at Jack-in-the-Box on my way home.)
I must leave early, but what a lovely evening.
(Can’t wait to get back to my book and time alone.)

slippers

Poetic Asides April 14, 2015, Poem-a-day challenge.

One thought on “Honesty/Dishonesty

Leave a Reply

