Submerged

vintage girl-with-typewriter

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. —Ernest Hemingway

Submerged

When I start, I often get up,
sit down, go get things,
fuss with my desk,
rearrange the clutter,
look out the window,
pet the cat,
post on facebook,
read a chapter,
shop online,
and other nonsense.
But when I start to really focus,
everything melts away
and I get in the zone.
Time no longer has meaning,
and I will look up hours later,
and realize it’s not only dark,
but two hours past dinner time.
And as odd as it sounds,
I love that feeling,
lost in a world of my own creation,
making the characters do and say
just what I want them to.
That is true bliss.

Leave a Reply

