Technology/Anti-technology

Pier Angeli in the Rain

Soak it in

I could bring the umbrella.
I could wear the galoshes, and raincoat,
hat, gloves, and scarf,
and be prepared for the rain.
But what fun is that?
Water is falling from the sky,
and it’s not too cold yet.
How fun would it be to just go out bare-headed
and splash in all the puddles
and find pretty stones transformed by the wet?
How fun would it be to simply
turn my face up to the sky and soak in the rain.
Then, when I’ve had my fill
and am dripping wet,
and feel somehow cleansed,
how nice will it be to come home
and dry in the warm house,
take a long soak in the tub
and sip tea
with a cat in my lap.

 

Leave a Reply

