Sorry

broken-heart-wallpapers-10-AMB

Reluctant

Once long ago, when my heart was new,
I loved a love so strong and true,
and innocent, or perhaps naive,
I thought only to give, not to receive,
and that was how my poor, tender heart,
was smashed and mashed and torn apart.
So when I see you, and want to love,
my heart nudges me with a brutal shove,
“Recall the hurt? Remember the pain?”
So I hold back, I try to abstain,
not wishing to suffer pain unplanned
another torture from a new hand.
Forgive me my worry, it was earned
through my affliction and anguished learned.
I’ll try to remember it wasn’t you
who broke my heart and made me so blue,
and open my heart like a fresh young girl
and hope our love will awake and unfurl.

Leave a Reply

