After

Twenty-first day of April, and only 9 days left to do a poem a day…

The prompt was to write a poem after another poem, inspired by another poet. The poem I chose is how to triumph like a girl, by Ada Limón, linked in the title. The card today was 20. Judgment, the meaning of that card is introspection, having an epiphany, learning something new to make yourself better.

XX. Judgment - Art Nouveau Tarot

XX. Judgment – Art Nouveau Tarot

I Always Thought
After “How to Triumph Like a Girl,” by Ada Limón

I always thought I had it under control
the longings, you know, and
I always thought it was only other people
who got addictions, you know, and
I always thought I was better than that.
But people can be addicted to people
and it’s not good for either of them,
it’s still addiction.
Sugar can be an addiction,
stronger than nicotine,
stronger than heroin,
and I had that too, I had that addiction.
I was all proud but now I see
I need to be the strong woman I have within,
strong like Ada Limón’s horses,
proud of the strength, my strength,
not looking down on the weakness of others.
I have learned that I can be the strong lady-horse
and it is a good feeling.

 

.

Leave a Reply

