Black and Blue

Broken Heart is a painting by Jalal Gilani

Broken Heart is a painting by Jalal Gilani

Black and Blue

I see blood in videos shot by weeping witnesses.
I see righteous (and unrighteous) rage.
I see the way some seek an excuse, any excuse.
I see them spin it to match their agendas.
I see words of love and loss and crushing contempt.
What’s worse, I see studied indifference and rampant narcissism.
I see people choosing sides with hashtags.
I see so many wounded families left grieving.
I see chaos in a way that should be over and done by now.
I see patterns of history repeating itself again and again.
I would choose peace for the world, but I see the world reject it.
I see we’re all on the same side; all on the same damn side.
I see disbelieving people embrace hate, and don’t they know
hate breeds hate breeds hate breeds hate breeds hate?
And every despicable act crushes the good and their hopeful intentions.

I see my grieving heart bruised black and blue.

 

.

One thought on “Black and Blue

  1. This is very wise and knowing. I agree with this completely, and esp loved “I see people choosing sides with hashtags.” To me, that sums up the instantaneous side-taking and shallow depth of what passes for civic discourse. This was very good – too bad it had to be written. Love, Moskowitz

Leave a Reply

